Three Red Raiders inducted into THSFB Hall of Fame


LUBBOCK, TX –Texas Tech officially inducted three Red Raiders into the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame Saturday night during a ceremony at the Texas Sports Hall of Fame in Waco.

The Class of 2022 included two former Red Raider Letter Winners to Dick Stafford (Temple High School) and Rodney Allison (Odessa High School) as well as a new head coach Joey McGuirewho was enshrined as one of two Eddie Joseph Coaches Award winners for his successful tenure at Cedar Hill High School.

“It’s quite an honor, and I couldn’t be prouder to join such a prestigious group in the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame,” McGuire said. “During my career, I have been fortunate to work with so many talented players and coaches, and I can guarantee that I would not be here today without the collective effort they have all put into our program while I was at Cedar Hill. I can’t thank all these young men and coaches enough.”

In his 14 seasons in charge of Cedar Hill, McGuire took a Longhorns program that hadn’t won a playoff game prior to his arrival and developed it into one of the most winning cultures in the state. Cedar Hill made the playoffs in 12 straight seasons under McGuire, ending those runs with state titles three times — in 2006, then in 2013 and 2014.

McGuire, who also led Cedar Hill to a second-place finish in 2012, compiled an impressive 141-42 record during his tenure that included nine bi-district titles and seven district crowns. He was previously inducted into the Texas High School Coaches Association Hall of Honor as part of its Class of 2020.

Allison, meanwhile, was an all-state quarterback in Odessa High School in the Permian Basin before his glittering career as the Red Raider. Allison rushed for 1,140 yards and threw for 1,115 more as a senior at Odessa High, leading the storied program to a victory over rival Odessa Permian while earning All-America, All-State and All-State honors. All-Region in the process.

Allison remains one of the best quarterbacks in Texas Tech history after leading the Red Raiders to the Southwest Conference title in 1976 in a 10-win season that included an appearance in the Bluebonnet Bowl. He was named the SWC Most Valuable Player as a junior in 1976 as well as the Bluebonnet Bowl MVP.

After ending his playing career, Allison enjoyed more than 30 seasons as a college coach with assistant stops at Duke, Southern Miss, Auburn, Clemson and his alma mater as well as a five-year run as the head coach at Tennessee-Chattanooga from 2003 to 2008. He is currently the executive director of the Double T Varsity Club, the official letter winners association of Texas Tech Athletics.

“It was truly an honor,” Allison said. “The lessons I learned as a high school football player in Odessa, Texas continue to impact my life. My family and I couldn’t be more grateful to have been included in the Class of 2022. of such a prestigious Hall of Fame.”

Stafford, like Allison, is also a Red Raider letter winner, having worn scarlet and black during the 1959-60 seasons after being transferred from the Midwestern state. Prior to that, Stafford, who was a defensive end for the Philadelphia Eagles in 1962 and 1963, received Waco Tribune-Herald Super Centex honors as a two-way fullback and linebacker for Temple High School.

The entire Class of 2022 also included the likes of Ray Rhodes (Mexia HS), Tony Brackens (Fairfield HS), Shea Walker (Port Arthur HS), Colt McCoy (Tuscola Jim Ned HS), Special Contributor Robert Wilcox ( Iowa Park) and fellow trainer John Parchman (Midland Lee HS).


About Author

Comments are closed.