Leary named ACC Pre-Season Player of the Year


RALEIGH, North Carolina – Led by the QB of 2022 ACC Preseason Player of the Year Devin LearyNC State had five members elected to the All-Atlantic Coast conference preseason football team, the conference announced.

The five selected by NC State were the second-highest total in the conference (Clemson – 6).

Leary is coming off a 2021 campaign in which he became the first and only quarterback in ACC history to hit the 35 (touchdowns) to 5 (interceptions) mark in a single season. He set a new school single-season record with 35 passing touchdowns, breaking the previous mark of 34 held by Philip Rivers (2003).

Leary led the 2022 ACC Preseason Player of the Year poll with 40 votes, followed by Wake Forest quarterback Sam Hartman (30) and Miami quarterback Tyler Van Dyke (21). . A total of 11 players received votes.

In addition to Leary, center Grant Gibson was also named to the offensive team. Entering his fourth season as a Pack starter, Gibson led the Wolfpack with 828 scrimmage snaps last year. He has started the last 35 games at center for NC State.

NC State is tied for most defensive players named with three, a season after the Pack ranked third in the ACC in total defense.

KG DrakeThomas (a first-team All-ACC selection last year with 100 tackles) led the vote for the linebacking corps at three and is joined by his teammate Payton Wilson who missed most of last season but was selected to the 2020 All-ACC First Team after leading the conference in tackles (108).

S Tanner Ingle was also named to the preseason squad, and he also earned first-team All-ACC honors for his performance last season.

The preseason honors were determined by a vote of 164 members of the media, including those who were accredited for last week’s ACC Football kickoff in Charlotte, North Carolina.

2022 Preseason All-ACC Football Team
(Total votes in brackets)

QC Devin LearyNC State (56)
RB Sean Tucker, Syracuse (125)
RB Will Shipley, Clemson (112)
WR Josh Downs, NC (128)
WR AT Perry, Wake Forest (111)
WR Zay Flowers, Boston College (104)
TE Will Mallory, Miami (69)
A.P. Keytaon Thompson, Virginia (70)
OT Jordan McFadden, Clemson (127)
OT Zion Nelson, Miami (82)
OG Caleb Chandler, Louisville (104)
OG Christian Mahogany, Boston College (67)
VS Grant GibsonNC state (90)

BY Myles Murphy, Clemson (120)
FROM Habacuc Baldonado, Pitt (54)
DT Bryan Bresee, Clemson (116)
DT Calijah Kancey, Pitt (62)
KG DrakeThomasNC State (92)
LB Trenton Simpson, Clemson (82)
KG Payton WilsonNC status (60)
CB Kei’Trel Clark, Louisville (70)
CB Josh DeBerry, Boston College (65)
S Jammie Robinson, Florida State (93)
S Tanner IngleNC status (63)

PK BT Potter, Clemson (99)
P Lou Hedley, Miami (101)
SP Josh Downs, NC (57)

Pre-Season Player of the Year

1. Devin LearyQB, NC status (40)
2. Sam Hartman, QB, Wake Forest (30)
3. Tyler Van Dyke, QB, Miami (21)
4. Bryan Breese, TD, Clemson (14)
4-t. Brennan Armstrong, QB, Virginia (14)
6-t. Malik Cunningham, QB, Louisville (12)
6-t. Josh Downs, WR, NC (12)
8. Sean Tucker, RB, Syracuse (11)
9. Myles Murphy, DT, Clemson (5)
10. Trenton Simpson, LB, Clemson (3)
11. Jammie Robinson, S, Florida State (2)


About Author

Comments are closed.