2021 S-Class Football Championship preview: Cromwell / Portland vs. Bloomfield


Cromwell / Portland v Bloomfield

The tranche of the CIAC Classe S 2021 tournament.

Sean Patrick Bowley / Hearst Connedcticut Media


OR WHEN – McDougall Stadium, Trumbull, 11 a.m.

TICKETS – Adults $ 10, students / seniors $ 5


SEEDS / FILES – No. 2 Cromwell / Portland 12-0; No. 1 Bloomfield 12-0

COACHES – Cromwell / Portland: Randell Bennett, 4th season (31-12); Bloomfield: Ty Outlaw, 11th season (100-26)


Championship history

Cromwell / Portland (1st co-op appearance, 1-3 as Cromwell): 2003-S lost to Ansonia 55-0; 2004-S lost to Hyde 14-7; 2008-S def. Ansonia 14-12; 2011-S lost at Sainte-Croix 34-27.

Field of flowers (9-6): 1982-MM def. Penney 12-6; 1993-SS lost to Seymour 40-12; 1994-SS lost to Ansonia 54-14; 1995-S lost to Ansonia 7-0; 1996-S lost to Darien 21-16; 1997-S def. Darien 39-21; 1998-S def. Ansonia 40-7; 1999-S def. Ansonia 56-0; 2000-M def. New Canaan 55-6; 2001-S def. North Branford 40-7; 2003-SS def. Brookfield 34-14; 2006-SS lost to Ansonia 34-12; 2015-S def. Ansonia 31-20; 2018-S def. Haddam-Killingworth 25-7; 2019-S lost to Sheehan 64-33.

How they got here

Cromwell / Portland beat Notre Dame-Fairfield, 29-20, in the quarterfinals, then beat Ansonia 46-7 at home in the semi-final.

Bloomfield beat Morgan 50-18 in the quarterfinal and rallied to beat New Fairfield 22-14 in the semi-final.

Players to watch

Cromwell / Portland: Owen Brunk Sr., LB; Cole Brisson, Jr., QB; Teddy Williams, Sr., LB / WR; Ryan Rozich, Jr., LB / WR.

Bloomfield: Conellius Patrick, Jr., RB / DB; Dallas Rose, Sr., RB / LB; Darrien Foster, Soph., QB; Jakar Jenkins, Sr., OL / DL.

What is that

This is the third meeting between the two programs in the state playoffs. Bloomfield won the semifinal match, 45-14, in 2006 against Cromwell. In 2016, the newly formed Cromwell / Portland co-op knocked out the reigning state champions in the S-Class quarterfinals, 28-14.

Most of the key Cromwell / Portland plays were performed in 2019 in grade two and went 2-8. Despite their absence last season, those same players scripted an unbeaten regular season and, in the semifinals, handed Ansonia their most unbalanced loss in 22 years.

C / P quarterback Cole Brisson scored six touchdowns in the semifinals, including five for Teddy Williams to go with his nine catches and 332 yards. Brisson threw 29 touchdowns this year and Williams caught 19.

Williams and his bash brothers, senior Owen Brunk and junior Ryan Rozich, anchor a defense that has allowed just 91 points this season. The three linebackers made almost 90 tackles each. Senior defensive line Alex Hair and sophomores Jack Williams and Emeka Yearwood combined for 15 1/2 sacks.

Bloomfield are in the finals for the third season in a row, but this time almost a brand new squad to the 2019 finalist squad.

The newcomers have not missed a beat. Senior running back Dallas Rose and junior running back Conellius Patrick both passed the 1,000-yard mark. Rose rushed for 22 touchdowns and Patrick 15.

Quarterback Darrien Foster has thrown 22 touchdowns this season, including two in the semifinals after missing the quarter-finals with a handful of other starters due to COVID-19 protocols.

Senior Jekar Jenkins is leading a defense that saw eventual Gatorade State Player of the Year Victor Rosa win a single touchdown in a 7-6 season opener. Jenkins had 80 tackles, 23 for loss and 12 1/2 sacks. Patrick and Rose are also good defenders. Literally second-year safeties Davien (4) and Davion Kerr (3) lead the team in interceptions.

Bloomfield allowed a record 44 points (including three shutouts) in the regular season. The 14 points awarded to New Fairfield were the most allowed by the first team all year.


SPB – Cromwell / Portland
PETE – Cromwell / Portland


About Author

Comments are closed.